The following is the Ø7Ø Club policy statement reqarding callsigns and their use within the Ø7Ø Club program. While this FAQ attempts to address most of the common issues an Ø7Ø Club Member may come up against, it is not all-inclusive by any means. To avoid misunderstandings and/or disappointments, it is always best to send an email to Jay, N3DQU, and ask for the official Ø7Ø Club policy regarding your special callsign question BEFORE your expected operation is to take place.
Q1: Who can be an Ø7Ø Club Member?
A1: Any amateur radio operator licensed to operate on the HF bands who has made 50 (fifty) different PSK31 contacts on the HF bands (160M - 6M).
Q2: What about a Club station?
A2: Amateur radio clubs can become members too, if the 50 contacts were made using the club callsign.
Q3. What is the Alpha List?
A3: The Alpha List is an alpha-numerical list of active Club members (individuals and clubs) listed by callsign. Even though we list members by their callsigns, it is the individual (or club) that is the member. The current Alpha List is always available on this web site.
Q4: Suppose I get a new callsign? What happens then?
A4: Notify the Club of your callsign change and we'll update the Alpha List. Contacts made under both your old and new callsigns will count for your endorsements.
Q5: Suppose I get a special event callsign. Or what if I use an "alternate" callsign, like a temporary special prefix? Do these count?
A5: You can count all contacts you make under all of these situations, IF the callsign was assigned to you personally. But if it's a club special event station, and you were just the operator, they won't count. Just notify us of the special callsigns and effective dates so we can update our records and give credit to anyone who worked you.
Q6: If I let someone else use my station, can I count the contacts they make towards my endorsements?
A6: If you are an individual member, then only contacts made when YOU are the control operator count. But if the member is a club, then anyone can be the control op and the club gets credit.
Q7: Can I count contacts I make if I'm operating a club station, like at Field Day?
A7: Only contacts made by you (as the control op) operating a station licensed to you count towards your Ø7Ø awards.
Q8: Suppose I operate from another country? Can I count contacts I make there?
A8: As long as you meet the other requirements (that you are the control operator and the station is licensed to you personally), then any contacts you make anywhere will count, provided you were operating legally and in accordance with privileges granted to you by the licensing authority.
Q9: What about "automatic" reciprocal licenses that are defined by treaty, like the US and Canada (e.g. W3HF/VE3), or CEPT (F/N3DQU) or IARP?
A9: As long as you meet the other requirements (that you are the control operator and the station is licensed to you personally), then any contact you make anywhere will count, provided you were operating legally and in accordance with privileges granted to you by the licensing authority.
Q10: What about reciprocal licenses that DON'T include my callsign, like W3HF operating as ZF2HF?
A10: As long as you meet the other requirements (that you are the control operator and the station is licensed to you personally), then any contact you make anywhere will count. Since this is a case where you might not be recognized as an Ø7Ø member, you must notify the Ø7Ø Club of your alternate callsign and the effective dates.
Q11: I want to get a separate Ø7Ø Club membership for my alternate callsign. Can I do this?
A11: If you are assigned a separate and distinct callsign for reciprocal operation, you can choose to request a separate Ø7Ø Club membership for that call once you have made the required 50 PSK31 contacts using that call. Note that in this case you must keep your contacts separate between your two calls - you can't combine them for endorsement purposes.
Q12: What about LONP? Can I count a contact with F/N3DQU or ZF2HF (operated by W3HF) as contacts instead of working their home calls?
A12: You can count ANY PSK31 contact you make with another member for your own LONP credit. If his reciprocal license includes his home call (e.g. F/N3DQU), then all you have to do is list it on your contact list. If the other station is using a special event call, a special prefix, or a reciprocal license that doesn't include his home call, then you can only count those contacts AFTER the other station has notified the Ø7Ø Club of the callsigns. NOTE: It is the responsibility of the member operating under a recriprocal callsign to notify the Ø7Ø Club of the details of the operation so that members can be given credit for the contacts.
Q13: I contacted the same person twice, once at his home QTH and once when he was operating in a foreign country using his reciprocal callsign. I notice that he has a separate Ø7Ø Club membership for his reciprocal call. Can I count this as two separate LONP contacts?
A13: Yes. Since he has two separate Club memberships you can contact each of them and count them separately.
Q14: I plan to be outside of my country during the TDW contest. Can I operate in the TDW using a reciprocal license?
A14: Yes. Since you are an Ø7Ø Club member you can operate in the TDW using any callsign that is personally assigned to you. But you might have to take one extra step depending on your reciprocal callsign. For the contest to be fair, it is imperative that all members know the callsigns of all other members that can be contacted for credit. For this purpose, the Club publishes what is called the "Final Multiplier List" approximately three days prior to the start of the contest. This "Final Multiplier List" is in fact the official list of all stations that may be counted for multiplier credit during the TDW. So, if you will be using a callsign during the contest that is different from the one listed in the Ø7Ø Club's Alpha List, you must notify the Ø7Ø Club at least five days prior to the start of the contest so that your alternate callsign can be listed in place of your permanent one. If you don't do this you can't participate in the TDW and contacts made with you may not be counted for contest credit. More information on the Three Day Weekend (TDW) is available on this web site.